Return to Website

dr. robert forum

Welcome to dr. robert forum.

This Forum community is growing fast. Tell your friends.

Search:

Visit "ask dr. robert" to read replies to the latest questions.

Thanks to the help of a very kind Cajun amigo, the Dr. Robert Forum is back, better than ever, at:

www.dr-robert.com/forum.html

I look forward to seeing you all there.

Be well,
RS

robert's Forum
This Forum is Locked
Author
Comment
Model self esteem

Hi there, Im a first year University student, and Im currently writing a feature about models and eating habits. Would you be able to give me a brief opinion or statement about how a model, or fashion industry could potentially affect a models self esteem and why so many of them develop eating problems?
If you could, that would be very helpful.

Thank you,
Lily

Re: Model self esteem

I should think this answer is completely self evident, really.

First and foremost their jobs depend on how they look in their clothes. When you are talking about the difference between a size 0 and a size 2, and you are in a paradigm where a size 2 is too large, weight is, essentially, then, life or death.

I don't think models have any self esteem issues that all women every where do not have. Am I pretty enough? Are my boobs big enough? Is my rear end too fat? Is my waist small enough? Are my legs long enough? Is my hair full enough, straight enough, curly enough? Am I feminine enough? The difference for the models, then, is that they are fixated on these physical things on a daily basis because of their professions. The average non-model can at least get so caught up in real life from time to time as to forget or at least forget for a moment some of these physical concerns.