Return to Website

dr. robert forum

Welcome to dr. robert forum.

This Forum community is growing fast. Tell your friends.

Search:

Visit "ask dr. robert" to read replies to the latest questions.

Thanks to the help of a very kind Cajun amigo, the Dr. Robert Forum is back, better than ever, at:

www.dr-robert.com/forum.html

I look forward to seeing you all there.

Be well,
RS

robert's Forum
This Forum is Locked
Author
Comment
sociopaths

I've read posts about sociopaths and from sociopaths and although I'm far from an expert in any field I can't help but comment that we all, including sociopaths have free will. We can still choose to do good or evil, regardless of how we feel. I'm Catholic and we call that 'void of emotion' spiritual dryness, which I'm told is actually a gift. (I don't understand that but I accept that)Am I being naive to suggest that a sociopath can still choose to lead a good, honest life without feeling the emotions that everyone else seems to feel? I'd hate to think that there's no hope for them. I know of children who show sociopathic tendencies and what's to become of them? How can we help them? Could instilling in them a sense of making choices based on religious or societal 'rights and wrongs' and using their free will wisely be effective? Thank you in advance for your insight.

Re: sociopaths

We all have free will. Every action is a conscious choice. Yes, sociopaths can be "good" people.

Even if you take all religion, all moral, and all ethical consideration out of our social customs and laws, what you call a good life, is still the most logically practical way for millions of people to co-exist peacefully. So, it doesn't necessarily require a conscience or a sense of good or evil to recognize there is a right and a wrong way to go through life.