This Message Forum is no longer in use

Please use the new Bravenet Help Forums FOUND HERE

General Forum
This Forum is Locked
Author
Comment
Background repeat

I thought I would try out bravenet and I'm having a little trouble. I got an overall background that goes behind everything so that works. There's only one little area right now that I'm trying to figure out which is the repeat background section for my text area. I try veiwing it in explorer and it doesn't show up where in firefox it does, but when I try to go edit it again, the code changes then the section backgroud doesn't show up in either. I have some experience with html, but I can't figure out why there is a different in bravenet yet. Anyways, if anyone like to view the site and have an idea of how they do it, let me know. I've only done one page yet so no links are working.

Re: Background repeat

I believe your problem is due to an error on your web page. Firefox tends to ignore some errors and makes assumptions. Sometimes it even gets them right. But IE doesn't ignore anything. So everything has to be correct.

I'm not sure if your trying to use one table or two. I see a table started and the top row seems to be made up of 14 small images. These include the link tabs. But right below the image that says "About Me", I see some odd code.

Code:
<td background="http://nicholepearsondesign.bravehost.com/layout_16.jpg" style="background:repeat:repeat-y" width="814" height="12" /><table width="735" border="0" align="center">

<TABLE width=735 align=center border=0>

The background image is not specified correctly, and the "style" is totally wrong. Then, without terminating the table, two new tables are started. Only one of which ever gets terminated. Did you intend to have multiple tables or was this suppose to be one table? Was this copied from another template? Do you have a copy of the original code to look at?

Browser: Firefox, Netscape, Sea Monkey, Internet Explorer, .....