This Message Forum is no longer in use

Please use the new Bravenet Help Forums FOUND HERE

General Forum
This Forum is Locked
Author
Comment
tables alighned and positioning images

Hi,

I have never built a web page before and quite frankly with all the work involved I wish I hadn't started.

I want to include 5 more tables like the ones I have already on my site, the problem is they keep going on to the left hand side instead of 'centre' and 'right.' I realize this has something to do with 'align' but when I change the settings nothing happens.

I would really like the three already showing to be aligned from left to right, with my images in between.

Plus, I can't get my clock back into the top left either. Oops I nearly forgot, how can I place my affiliates exactly where I want them?

Thank you in advance

Jon

Re: tables alighned and positioning images

Yes, when you first start out, designing web pages can be very difficult. It looks like you started your page with the Website Wizard and then abandon it for the Visual editor. That's almost always a very bad idea. I wouldn't recommend the Visual editor for anything. It has too many idiosyncrasies. You might want to consider using a template from the template gallery and a different editor. Try this link to Kvetching About Templates. The page on template editing has links to several good editors and utilities. Although, making your tables fit horizontally will be even more challenging.

Making your tables appear side by side doesn't really have anything to do with "align". Tables are considered "block-level" elements. Generally, block-level elements begin on new lines. So each time you start a new table, a new line is generated and they stack vertically.

I think the latest HTML definitions contain the ability to declare a table as a "in-line" element, but only the newest of browsers will understand it, and you don't want to limit yourself to that.