This Message Forum is no longer in use

Please use the new Bravenet Help Forums FOUND HERE

General Forum
This Forum is Locked
Author
Comment
RE: Dynamic Content Change!

Hi There

As I am still learning HTML, I was using the test code for 'A simple dynamic Content Change' as follows:

H2Me Feeling SPAN id="emotion">Happy/ENDSPAN&H2
IMG id="photo" src = "C:UsersJenniferPicturesJenMarch06.jpg" alt = "[Jenny feeling Happy]" ="change();"ENDIMG

SCRIPT type = "text/javascript"
COMMENT
function change()
{if(emotion.innerHTML=="Happy")
{photo.src="C:UsersJenniferPicturesJenMarch06.jpg"
emotion.innerhtml="Sad";}
else
{photo.src="C:UsersJenniferPicturesIMG_0454.jpg";
emotion.innerhtml="Happy";}
}
END COMMENT
SCRIPT
BODY

It doesn't actually work . It's wierd, I got the code from a text book. I ran the code through 'validator' on the W3C website and it say's it valid.

Try using paths to two images on your computer in place of mine and see if the image actually changes when you click on it. Mine let's you click on it and then even though the path is valid it comes up with the red cross "image not found". Also the text doesn't change to 'Sad'.

I hope you can help, thanks Jen

PS I have replaced tags with capitalized explanations to stop the page rendering it as HTML. I've also missed out the head, title, body and opening and closing HTML tags. Remember it has passed as valid code so I'm stumped at what;s going wrong on this one!

Re: RE: Dynamic Content Change!

Forget dynamic content change for the moment.

doesn't work. Not even after I created a picture named UsersJenniferPicturesIMG_0454.jpg on my C: drive.

works - if the html file is also in the root directory.

So does

But that file name sounds to me as if you are trying to say something like
localhost/C:/Users/Jennifer/Pictures/IMG_0454.jpg

That is of course not to say that there is nothing else wrong with your code, I was just to lazy to even try to understand what you had changed.