This Message Forum is no longer in use

Please use the new Bravenet Help Forums FOUND HERE

General Forum
This Forum is Locked
Author
Comment
deleting extra banner and coding help

Hello all, I am new at doing all of this and I really need some help with my page. I have two banners and am told that I can delete one, but i dont know how. And I need to know if anyone can tell me why my site refreshes every 10 seconds...lol Thank you to whoever can help me with this.

Browser: stressedmomoftwo,4

Re: deleting extra banner and coding help

a link to your site please?

www.justcrazypeopl.bravehost.com

27. Why are there extra advertisements appearing on my free website?
With the free hosting, an advertisement is placed on each of your pages for each tag in the HTML code.

To fix this issue, you will need to remove the extra tags.

Just in case you're curious, if you remove all the tags, one will automatically be placed on your page.

ALSO probably down to the editor you are using to build your site with if you download your page it probably ads the extra tag in as well too

I know that it can be removed, my problem is I dont know how, can anyone tell me how I delete it. This is the very first webpage I have ever done, and I realy need help.

Re: Re: deleting extra banner and coding help

To delete, open the file in a text editor, highlight the piece that you want to delete then press the delete key. Save the file and upload.

You MUST remove all Bravenet advertising code as a banner is added every time you upload.

Keep the clean copy on your PC and when you wish to make future changes edit that and upload again.

In the future, if you want to get a copy of an HTML file (.htm or .html) that's on your site, use FTP to download the file to your harddrive. When you download a file via FTP, the server does not add any advertising code to it. When you use HTTP (like Save As in a web browser) the server will always add the code.