This Message Forum is no longer in use

Please use the new Bravenet Help Forums FOUND HERE

General Forum
This Forum is Locked
Author
Comment
Frame Coding

Frame Coding

I'm having a few coding problems with my site. I'm a beginning programmer and I'm working with Javascript, HTML/XHTML, and CSS. I'm hand typing the code on all my site. I've been having problems with frames. Here is the code I used,

------------------------------------------------------
(i changed urls to google to prevent over publicity to my private forum but it should still work. The code is valid. I tested it as a HTML file in my browser.) But whenever I display the part of the site where the frames are all I get is a blank page. View source shows the code, it just won't do frames. A little help please?
Sorry to make a new one. The last one's mess up with HTML coding made the new coments unviewable.

Re: Frame Coding

You would have problems on a free Bravehost site as they explicitly tell you that frames are not supported.

Peter's simple answer is really all that is necessary, but here is a little explanation on why you get a blank screen.

On free sites, the server attempts to key on the tag to insert the advertising banners. The banners are inserted as a complete HTML document, within your document. But a frames front end does not have, or need, a . All it has is a and structure. When the server encounters a HTML document without a , it simply inserts the advertising banners in front of the entire document. So instead of having a HTML document, within your document, which allows both of them to display, you have a complete HTML document in front of your document. When your browser encounters the tag at the end of the banner code, it stops interpreting the code and displaying.