Return to Website

dr. robert forum

Welcome to dr. robert forum.

This Forum community is growing fast. Tell your friends.

Search:

Visit "ask dr. robert" to read replies to the latest questions.

Thanks to the help of a very kind Cajun amigo, the Dr. Robert Forum is back, better than ever, at:

www.dr-robert.com/forum.html

I look forward to seeing you all there.

Be well,
RS

robert's Forum
This Forum is Locked
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: the Muslim boy who wants to kill himself

Thanks, Ecce Homo--

I have been reading and enjoying your contributions here on this Forum.

I am not down on all religion. As an evolutionary psychologist, I understand that the human mind has a need for reverence, explanation, and belief, and for many human beings religious doctrine supplies it. Of course, in my view, that is a somewhat infantile stage beyond which one eventually must grow emotionally and philosophically, but that is just one man's p.o.v.

If you will take a look at my piece called "On Religion," you will see that my argument is not with religion per se, but with the demands of many religious people for "respect," which to them often means "no criticism allowed." Of course I despise fundamentalism of any kind--religious, political, sexual, whatever.

My problem with the less vociferous religious types--the gentle ones who call themselves "people of faith,' and who would never knowingly hurt anyone, is that often they provide cover for the rabid fundamentalists by arguing that religious beliefs should be above criticism. Why should any belief be above open-eyed consideration? I certainly do not owe "respect" to what I see as superstitious fantasy. Examples:

"God" demands that I cut off the foreskin of my newborn's penis.

Homosexuals are sinners.

Abortion is killing a "baby."

etc., etc., etc.